Wed, 2015-01-14

Stanford Report, January 14, 2015

Though scientists do not completely understand what triggers solar flares, Stanford solar physicists Monica Bobra and Sebastien Couvidat have automated the analysis of those gigantic explosions. The method could someday provide advance warning to protect power grids and communication satellites.

Wed, 2014-11-26

Congratulations to Tom Abel - elected Fellow of the AAAS

Tue, 2014-11-11

Professors Aharon Kapitulnik and Zhi-Xun Shen Recipients of Moore Foundation Grants for Quantum Materials Research

Mon, 2014-11-10

Congratulations to Professor Sean Hartnoll for winning the 2015 New Horizons in Physics Prize! 

Tue, 2014-11-04

Prof. Shoucheng Zhang has been named a recipient of the 2015 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics, one of the oldest and most prestigious science awards in the United States.  Zhang shares the 2015 physics recognition with Charles Kane and Eugene Mele, both of the University of Pennsylvania, for their “groundbreaking theoretical contributions leading to the discovery of a new class of materials called topological insulators, and for their prediction of specific...

Wed, 2014-10-01

Stanford Professors Aharon Kapitulnik, Zhi-Xun Shen and Tony Heinz are among 11 recipients of the Moore Foundation Awards, given to Experimental Investigaors in Quatum Materials.  See press release for additional details.

In Thinking About the Universe, freshmen will explore profound questions about the cosmos – its beginnings, structure, extent and fate – with a philosopher, an experimental physicist and a theoretical physicist as their guides. The course is one of the new offerings in the Thinking Matters program, which is designed to help students transition from high school to college by introducing them to a multidisciplinary approach to learning that emphasizes critical analysis,...

Tue, 2014-09-02

Professor Kathryn Moler has been appointed as Sapp Family Univeristy Fellow in Undergraduate Education.  This fellowship is part of the Bass University Fellows Progream, designed to honor faculty who have demonstrated a sustained commitment, at the highest levels, to undergraduate education.  Congratulations, Prof. Moler!

Tue, 2014-09-02

Professor Sarah Church has been appointed the Pritzker University Fellow in Undergraduate Education.  This fellowship is part of the Bass Univeristy Fellows Program, designed to honor faculty who have demonstrated a sustained commitment, at the highest levels, to undergraduate education.  Congratulations, Prof. Church!

Andrei Linde was awarded the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, along with Alan Guth of MIT and Alexei Starobinsky of the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics in Moscow.

Fri, 2014-06-13

On June 13, 2014, Professor Renata Kallosh will receive an honorary doctorate from the University of Groningren, on the occasion of the "University of Groningen 400 Years" event.  Honorary doctorates are presented to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to society, academia or politics.  See

Mon, 2014-03-17

The detection of gravitational waves by the BICEP2 experiment at the South Pole supports the cosmic inflation theory of how the universe came to be. The discovery, made in part by Assistant Professor Chao-Lin Kuo, supports the theoretical work of Stanford's Andrei Linde.

Tue, 2014-02-18

Gravitational lensing solves puzzle from the Big Bang’s echo.

Mon, 2014-01-20

Leo Hollberg is a co-recipient of the 2014 Rank Prize for the creation and demonstration of the first chip scale atomic clock.

Election to the Chinese Academy of Science is one of the highest honors that China bestows on a citizen of a foreign country.  Congratulations, Shoucheng!

Mon, 2014-03-03

The 2014 Robert Hofstadter Memorial lecture will be given by Sir Michael Victor Berry, the Melville Wills Professor of Physics (Emeritus) at the University of Bristol on March 3, 2014. More information will be posted here.

Fri, 2013-08-23

We are very pleased to welcome the following six faculty to the Physics Department:
Steven Chu,
Persis Drell,

Patrick Hayden,
Kent Irwin, ...

Mon, 2013-03-18
Fri, 2013-03-08

Maria Giovanna Dainotti, a visiting post-doctoral researcher with Vahe Petrosian's group, has been awarded an Order of Merit of the Italian Republic in an International Women's Day ceremony (press release and...

Fri, 2013-02-15

After a four-year tenure marked by historic expansions in spending on green energy, Chu wrote in a letter to Energy Department employees that many major energy challenges– from a reliance on imported oil to lagging investment in green energy and a lack of action on climate change– still lie ahead. He emphasized, however, his intent to further his accomplishments as...

Wed, 2013-01-09
Bruno Rossi Prize for 2013 will be given:
"To Alice K Harding and Roger W. Romani for establishing a theoretical framework for understanding gamma-ray pulsars."
Wed, 2013-01-02
After a long illness, Stanley Sweet Hanna died December 27, 2012, in Palo Alto.   A brief graveside service was held on Wednesday, January 2, 2013, 1:00PM at Alta Mesa Cemetery in Palo Alto.  An obituary appears in the April 2013 issue of Physics Today.

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation has announced that Shoucheng Zhang as a 2013 Physics Frontiers Prize winner.

Fri, 2012-11-30

Physics Professor Patricia Burchat and five other faculty at Stanford University have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). 

Each year, the AAAS Council elects members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished. Examples of areas in which nominees may have made...
Mon, 2012-09-24
Professors Blas Cabrera from Stanford University and Bernard Sadoulet from University of California, Berkeley, have been awarded the 2013 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics.  The award is in joint recognition of...
Wed, 2012-08-08
Shoucheng Zhang has been awarded the Dirac Medal for 2012, along with Duncan Haldane of Princeton and Charles Kane of the University of Pennsylvania  "in recognition of their many important contributions to condensed matter physics, including their independent work preparing and opening the field of two and three dimensional topological insulators.  Their research and the physical implications of the concepts and theories they developed have been instrumental to exciting...
Tue, 2012-07-31


Andrei Linde wins $3 million Fundamental Physics Prize.
Stanford physicist among nine inaugural winners of prize awarded by Russia's Milner Foundation.
Mon, 2012-07-23

The astronaut Sally Ride, who was a Stanford student (BS 1973 in Physics and English, MS 1975/PhD 1978 in Physics) and later a science fellow at CISAC from 1987-1989, has died of pancreatic cancer:  NYTimes obituary and CISAC news

Sat, 2012-06-30

Physics Today article (June 2012)  features new results building on earlier work by Xiao‐Liang Qi and Shou‐Cheng Zhang (January 2010).