Skip to content Skip to navigation

Recent News

Jan 14 2016 | The Crafoord Prize | Posted In: Announcements, Awards, Faculty, In the News
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced that Roger Blandford is the co-recipient (with Roy Kerr) of the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy. The award is given "for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”. The award will be presented in May...
Dec 2 2015 | Stanford News | Posted In: Announcements, Faculty, In the News
Kathryn A. Moler, who earned a bachelor's degree and a doctorate in physics at Stanford and joined the faculty in 1998, is the chair of this year's Faculty Senate.
Nov 23 2015 | Stanford Medicine News Center | Posted In: Announcements, Awards, Faculty
Steven Kahn was one of nine Stanford Professors who were elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. AAAS members are elected as fellows by their peers for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications. Congratulations to Steve on this prestigious honor.
Nov 20 2015 | Posted In: Announcements
Dear Senior Physics majors, The deadline for applying to complete a Senior Thesis is Friday, November 20 before 4pm.  Note also that the approval and completion of a Senior Thesis is one of the requirements for the Honors Program.  A Senior Thesis can also be done independently of the Honors...