Skip to content Skip to navigation


The winner of the 2014 $3 million Fundamental Physics Prize and six winners of the 2014 $3 million Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences will be announced on December 12 in San Francisco. Stanford University's Department of Physics, in partnership with the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation, will host the winner's lecture at Stanford University the following day.

The nominees are:

  • Joseph Polchinski, KITP/University of California, Santa Barbara, for his contributions in many areas of quantum field theory and string theory. His discovery of D-branes has given new insights into string theory and quantum gravity, with consequences including the AdS/CFT correspondence.

  • Michael B. Green, University of Cambridge, and John H. Schwarz, California Institute of Technology, for opening new perspectives on quantum gravity and the unification of forces.

  • Andrew Strominger and Cumrun Vafa, Harvard University, for numerous deep and groundbreaking contributions to quantum field theory, quantum gravity, string theory and geometry. Their joint statistical derivation of the Bekenstein-Hawking area-entropy relation unified the laws of thermodynamics with the laws of black hole dynamics and revealed the holographic nature of quantum spacetime.

The nominees are laureates of the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation's 2014 Frontiers Prize (awarded on 11/3/13).

December 13, 2013 - 5:30pm to 6:30pm
CEMEX Auditorium, Knight Management Center, Stanford


Event Sponsor: 
Department of Physics
Contact Email: