Fundamental Physics Prize Scientific Meeting at Stanford

Fri December 13th 2013, 11:00am
Event Sponsor
The Department of Physics at Stanford University and The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation
Knight Management Center

An unedited recording of the live video is available as of Dec.17, 2013: editing is complete, the links will be updated)SCHEDULE: Seawell Family Boardroom (Bass Center Room 400)c.9:00am- 10:30am Morning Panel DiscussionConference:Oberndorf Event Center (North Building Room 302)11:00 a.m. Welcome11:05 – 11:45 a.m. Quantum CosmologyAlan Guth, Infinite Phase Space and the Two-Headed Arrow of TimeAlexander Polyakov, Self-destructive Space-time11:45 – 12:30 p.m. Break12:30 p.m. Keynote PresentationGeorge Efstathiou, Planck Satellite and the Present State of Observational Cosmology1:30 – 3:00 p.m. Particle Physics and CosmologyRenata Kallosh, Planck and Fundamental PhysicsEva Silverstein, The Structure of Cosmological Solutions and Observables in String TheoryNima Arkani-Hamed, From IR to UVSavas Dimopoulos, Big Answers from Small Experiments3:00 – 3:30 p.m. Break3:30 – 5:00 p.m. Non-perturbative String Theory, Entanglement, and Black Holes        Shamit Kachru, Hunting for Monsters in the LandscapeAshoke Sen, Off-shell String TheoryJuan Maldacena, Entanglement and GeometryLeonard Susskind, Messages Through the Wormhole and the Butterfly Effect CEMEX Auditorium5:30 – 6:30 p.m.Public lecture by 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize Winner with a special introduction by Lenny Susskind* * Advanced registration is not required for the public lecture. The 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize winner will be announced on December 12. In his first appearance as prize winner, the recipient will discuss transformative achievements in fundamental physics.The 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize nominees are:Joseph Polchinski, KITP/University of California, Santa Barbara, for his contributions in many areas of quantum field theory and string theory;Michael B. Green, University of Cambridge, and John H. Schwarz, California Institute of Technology, for opening new perspectives on quantum gravity and the unification of forces;Andrew Strominger and Cumrun Vafa, Harvard University, for numerous deep and groundbreaking contributions to quantum field theory, quantum gravity, string theory and geometry.”    ”    ”The winner of the prize will receive a $3 million award funded by The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation, a non-profit organization created by Yuri Milner. For more information, please visit